“G” is for…Getting ready to write

Getting ready to write can be as easy or as difficult as you want it to be. I’ve heard lots of rituals and procedures that have to be maintained while a person is getting ready to write and that made me think of what I need.

I must have quiet not absolute silence but I should be able to think. I’ve tried to write in front of the television or with music on but I start singing, then I think of something else I should have done and then the writing session is over. I need a beverage…sometimes two. Usually water and coffee or tea (iced) would be fine. I have a pad of paper where I have jotted down the steps of how my love story is going to go from point A to point Z (there are times when the character veers off course but they make it back to the final destination). A pen for if I need to jot down something important that came to me. Pictures of both love interests (this is when I just want to throw a physical characteristic in there for good measure). My computer (if not for this what would I write with). The ability to talk to myself…out loud if I have to (sometimes a conversation is needed to get through a particularly difficult scene, and if I’m alone…well, then that’s the best conversationalist I can come up with at the time)

So there you have it. That’s what I need to get BICHOK (Butt in chair – Hands on Keyboard)

Do you have any rituals that you do to make your job easier,  better, faster? Share them with me I love a good tip 🙂

Sexy Picture of the Day

519110294518206196_30txyIbQ_b

Click the banners to find out more about my books

LLD_RumorHasIt_banner

LLD_A Haught Date_banner

Feel Free to stop by any of my online haunts

Amazon

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter

Pinterest

4 thoughts on ““G” is for…Getting ready to write

  1. I need reduced distractions. Preferably somewhere with no television. I used to be able to work with small kids running around, the radio and the television on. Now not so much. Good luck with your writing. Leela Lou!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For me, I learned during a blogging challenge to sit quietly for a few moments and listen for story. The best support of that has been noise-canceling earphones and Pandora, so I can actually concentrate. Silence, patience, and the willingness to show up at the page are most critical for me. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

